On behalf of organizing committee, we would like to welcome you to the POLYCONDENSATION 2020 which will be held at ENA Suite Hotel on May 13 – 16, 2021 in Seoul, Korea. We originally planned to have this event on July 9 – 12, 2020, but had to postpone due to the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic. 

POLYCONDENSATION has been held biannually in three different continents, North America (USA), Europe, and Asia since 1996. Condensation polymers take significant part of all polymeric materials currently produced more than 300 million tons. And polycondensation is a convenient method to put functional groups into the main chains of polymers which enables various applications of condensation polymers in many areas including environment, health care, energy, airospace, electronics, and display devices. 

This symposium aims to promote the interaction among the people who develop and use polycondensation to make diversified polymeric materials. Fundamental understanding of polycondensation in synthetic point of view as well as physical properties of condensation polymers at molecular level is critical for the progress of polymer science and development of innovative polymeric materials for future applications.

This symposium consists of plenary and invited lectures together with poster presentation during four days. We appreciate your active participation and we hope that you can find a good brain-storming opportunity during the symposium.

Sang Youl Kim 
Conference Chair, Polycondensation 2020

Department of Chemistry

Organizing Committee

Jong-Beom Baek (UNIST)
Dong Hoon Choi (Korea University)
Hee Tae Jung (KAIST)
Bumjoon Kim (KAIST)
Eunkyeong Kim (Yonsei University)
Hwan Kyu Kim (Korea University)
Kyoung Taek Kim (Seoul National University)
Haeshin Lee (KAIST)
Jae-Suk Lee (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology)
Taiho Park (Pohang University of Science and Technology)
Mihye Yi (KRICT)
Dong Ki Yoon (KAIST)
Soon-ki Kwon (Gyeongsang National University)


General Secretary: Myungeun Seo (KAIST)
In Hwan Jung (Kookmin University)
Jeyoung Park (KRICT)


Synthesis of Condensation Polymers
Morphology and Physical properties of Condensation Polymers
High Performance Polymers
Conjugated Polymers
Self-assembly and Nanostructured Polymeric Materials
Biopolymers and Gels

International Advisory Board

Teruaki Hayakawa (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
James L. Hedrick (IBM Research-Almaden)
Masa-aki Kakimoto (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Cor E. Koning (DSM, University of Groningen)
Timothy E. Long (Virginia Tech)
Mitsuru Ueda (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Brigitte Voit (Leibniz Institute for Polymer Research)
Tsutomo Yokozawa (Kanagawa University)
Fan Lin (Institute of Chemistry, CAS)
Regis Mercier (University of Lyon)

Please contact via email if you have any inquiries.